Photo Credit: NAACP
Photo Credit: FilmMagic/GettyImages
Photo Credit: FilmMagic/GettyImages

It was a night of pure elegance, class, and truly honoring people of color gifts and talents. The 47th Annual NAACP Image Awards aired live on Friday evening in Pasadena, California.

Despite the recent Academy Awards controversy for not recognizing African American talent in Hollywood films, the NAACP Image Awards honors outstanding people of color in all genres including music, film, television, civil rights, sports and more.

Comedian and Master of Ceremonies for the evening Anthony Anderson hosted the Image Awards again this year as he opened the show with a live performance parody from the box office hit, Straight Outta Compton. Anderson even made some jokes about Will & Jada Smith for their Oscars controversy. “Will & Jada are in the house. They better be here after causing all the controversy. Janet Hubert is also here with us tonight. Run Jada Run!”

The Hit ABC comedy series “Black-Ish” took home three Image Awards including Best Actor (Anthony Anderson), Best Actress (Tracee Ellis Ross) and Best Comedy Series.

During her acceptance speech, Ross was so humbled and expressed her gratitude to the NAACP for recognizing African Americans’ accomplishments, “Thank you NAACP for seeing us, for recognizing us, and for giving us this moment to see each other, and our beauty, our talent and our power, our voice and who we are.”

Also taking home three major wins for the night was FOX’s hit show “Empire” winning Best Actor (Terrance Howard), Best Actress (Taraji P. Henson) and Best Drama Series

We don’t have to ask for acceptance from anyone. We’ve been enough and always will be enough, Taraji P. Henson said during her acceptance speech.

A key highlight of the night was when R&B soul singer & humanitarian John Legend was honored and received the 2016 NAACP President Image Award for his tireless dedication to many different organizations, including his own called ‘LRNG’(pronounced learning) which is a campaign movement dedicated to reimaging classrooms and shaping students into innovators of tomorrow.

Another major highlight of the evening was this year’s Image Chairman’s Award with not one but eight recipients who were recognized for being activists and agents who inspire change in their communities. Three organizations and five individuals were chosen, including The University of Mississippi NAACP College Chapter; Rev. Dr. Otis Moss III; and Jussie Smollett.

And though they were snubbed by not having a place on the Oscars ballot, Ice Cube and Dr. Dre’s produced film Straight Outta Compton scored a win for Best Outstanding Motion Picture. Actor Michael B. Jordan also scored big taking home Best Outstanding Actor for the movie Creed, and Entertainer of The Year presented by last year’s winner Taraji P. Henson.

Take a look at more winners below!

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series: Mike Epps, Survivor’s Remorse

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series: Marsai Martin, Black-ish

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series: Joe Morton, Scandal

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series: Regina King, American Crime

Outstanding Writing in a Drama Series: Mara Brack Ali, Jameal Turner, Keli Goff,Being Mary Jane, Sparrow

Outstanding Writing in a Motion Picture (Television): Lawrence Hill, Clement Virgo, The Book of Negroes

Outstanding Directing in a Comedy Series: Don Cheadle, House of Lies,

Outstanding Directing in a Motion Picture (Film): Ryan Coogler, Creed

Outstanding Character Voice-Over Performance (Television or Film): Loretta Devine, Doc McStuffins

Outstanding Talk Series: The Talk

Outstanding Reality Program/Reality Competition Series: Welcome to Sweetie Pie’s

Outstanding Variety (Series or Special): Family Feud

Outstanding TV-Movie, Miniseries or Dramatic Special: The Wiz Live!

Outstanding Actor in a TV-Movie, Miniseries or Dramatic Special: David Alan Grier, The Wiz Live!

If you missed the show, watch it here!

Congratulations to all the winners and recipients on your awards and achievements. We salute you.

By Tiffany Hercules


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here